And the Liebster award goes to…

“Me… me… please… please… please let it be me”, prayed my subconscious as he sat patiently but uneasily at the noted award function at Kodak Theater. I watched him as he waited, silently hoping to hear his own name being called out. As he waited with all his piety, no matter how little, he could barely control himself for it was the prestigious Liebster award that would change his life forever.

“SIDDHARTH !!!”, screamed the award function host into the microphone. Momentarily, the room went deafeningly silent as people registered the name that had made headlines. It felt like a moment right out of a horror movie, just before the door creaks open with a heavy noise that announces impending terror.

As soon as that moment subsided, however, people erupted in applause. My subconscious, the winner, couldn’t believe his ears, wondering if this was all a dream. He could not fathom how his name had been called out among the so many brilliant people present. He had hoped for it, but he didn’t expect it. He told me later that that moment felt so excitingly surreal that he had no clue how to react. He had dreamt of bagging that award all his life, but now that it had become a reality, he was clueless about what to do next. For him, it felt like the journey was more rewarding than the destination.

Oops !!! We're sorry we could not load the image at this moment. Please try again later...

I could resonate that feeling in the exact same way on bagging the Liebster award, given generously by my blogger friend Shweta Dave, who writes on her self-hosted blog. Thank you Shweta for the award; it is not just an award, it is an honour, and my conscious, my subconscious and I all thank you for it.

The Liebster award, the name of which is derived from the German word “liebster”, which has several connotations, is an online-only award by bloggers to bloggers. It uses the network effect of accepting the award and passing it on to fellow bloggers, like in a chain letter.

Thus, accepting the award isn’t the end of it; rather, it is the beginning of a process to set in motion the network effect originating from the award winner as the node. I now have to follow the rules of the award and spread the word, literally.

Oops !!! We're sorry we could not load the image at this moment. Please try again later...

So, here are the detailed rules, as highlighted on a detailed piece on Liebster award.

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog

Thank you again Shweta for the honour. It means a lot. Here is Shweta’s blog and here is the nomination post.

2. Display the award on your blog

Done. Check out the widgets on the sidebar… 🙂

3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

I’ll come to this later…

4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself

I’ll come to this later too…

5. Nominate 11 blogs

I’ll try… (my poor reading habits don’t always put the limelight onto people with less than 1000 followers)

6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer

Gotta think about this…

7. List these rules in your post

Voila…

8. Inform the people that you nominated them for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it

Will get to this once I finish the rest.


Oops !!! We're sorry we could not load the image at this moment. Please try again later...

So, let’s begin with point #3, questions that Shweta has put forth for me to answer.

1. Tell us something unique about your blog.

Perhaps my lack of adherence to a central theme. I don’t like to confine myself to a theme and prefer to read and write about anything that comes to mind, be it through my reading or personal experiences or imagination.

2. What time do you best write on your blog and why?

Late nights, when everyone is asleep and I can finally enjoy my solitude. I need blissful conditions for the river of words to make its way to the ocean. I find that only at night; when the rest of the world snores, I write (type).

3. What if you had a superpower? What would that be?

Omniscience. Other than the Godly stature that that superpower (yes, it is a superpower) would bring, it would also make one of my deepest brightest dreams come true.

4. What is the most adventurous thing you have done in life?

Hmm. I have no clue. I don’t, or rather, can’t, judge and classify activities that may not have the same level of excitement. I have done a few silly crazy things in life, but I can’t pick and choose. Apples and oranges, you see…

5. Are you an impulsive shopper?

NO. All e-commerce websites, please don’t bother me with your offers. I am unlikely to be swayed and I am not impulsive.

6. What makes you angry?

People judging others, or worse, judging me. Being judgemental about something or someone based on half-baked and half-known facts is harsh and uncalled for.

7. What do you mean by the word freedom?

The ability to live life on one’s own terms and to make one’s own choices.

8. What is your favourite cartoon character?

Jerry. Undoubtedly the smartest guy on the block. Ask Tom for his testimonial.

9. What is that one object you can’t live without?

Wi-Fi router. Need I say more?

10. Do you believe in destiny?

As I write this, I am in the middle of my life’s toughest conundrum. My answer to this question is largely dependent on how my life turns out. For now, I am right at the middle of the weigh balance, with the needle pointing straight to “indifferent”.

11. What is your biggest learning of life so far?

That there is no end to learning. I’ve learnt that the day one stops learning, one is subjected to the insanities of obscurity and mediocrity.


Oops !!! We're sorry we could not load the image at this moment. Please try again later...

Alright, that’s enough philosophy for today. Time to move on to point #4. Here are some random facts about me:

1. I don’t eat vegetables, surviving primarily on non-veg

2. I use a book for my reading mannerism

3. I love pani-puri (golgappe, for my dear Delhi friends) and can never get tired of it

4. I have an OCD about my hands and feet. I need them clean all the time, else I get very restless.

5. I once, seemingly an eternity ago, had a six-pack, when swimming wasn’t just another leisure activity. Now the perfect adjective is “rotund”

6. I love to educate others. It fulfils me.

7. I don’t understand Finance but I love to read about its applications and the global financial markets.

8. I love economics as seen in the real world. I often end up drawing parallels between theory (concepts) and practice (the real world)

9. I fancy being the know-it-all guy. I don’t boast about it; I just like to know-it-all.

10. Biting nails helps me think. I am not nervous or anxious then. It is just a concentration-inducing mechanism.

11. I have herpetophobia – fear of reptiles.


Phew, that was a lot of information, not usually known to even close ones. Moving on to point #5…

1. Anunoy Samanta – http://www.clickingphotos.com/

2. Tomichan Matheikal – http://matheikal.blogspot.in/

3. Datta Ghosh – http://dattaghosh.blogspot.in/

4. Michael Shinzaki – http://quarterlylearnings.tumblr.com/

5. Venkat Vamsi Desireddy – http://thehealthywhining.wordpress.com/

6. Pranav Amrute – http://pranav.amrute.me/

7. Palak Chandna – http://notjustanyotherblog.wordpress.com/

8. Geetika Choudhary – http://www.bubblews.com/account/155094-geetikachoudhary

Clearly, I don’t read enough… forgive me.


Creating a new list of questions for point #6 is arduous but here goes…

1. What do you feel when you hit the “Publish” button?

2. What is the ultimate objective of your blog?

3. What has been your most embarrassing and/or gratifying moment online?

4. Are you fearful of your perception online?

5. Where would be your dream vacation? What would it entail?

6. Which celebrity inspires you the most? Why?

7. Which is your dream job? Why?

8. What do you reckon would be the title of your first book, if you write one? (If you have written already, put that up)

9. Which has been your best read so far? What about it makes it so special?

10. What is that one trait that others find annoying but you can’t accept or can’t change?

11. What in your favourite quote has inspired you?

Wow that took really long. My unimaginative and my inebriated subconscious (from the party after the award ceremony) slowed me down in compiling this long post.

Now that I am done, I will join my subconscious in the party. Catch you around…

11 thoughts on “And the Liebster award goes to…

  1. Congrats on your award coming from a blogger friend of mine too, Shweta (though she began to appear in my space recently only). Thank you very much for bringing me over here; I’m flattered, honoured and a little perplexed. Perplexed because I often think of myself as an irritating blogger, someone who pokes the reader beyond permissible limits.

    Finally, I look forward to fulfilling the conditions demanded by the award. I’m an extremely lazy person when it comes to doing things I don’t enjoy doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sir, you are not at all an irritating blogger. It is, in fact, one of your strengths yo bring out satire so eloquently and drive home a point far deeper than the obvious. I love reading your blog.

      Even I am lazy doing stuff that doesn’t entice me much, but I did it. Now it’s your turn.. 🙂

      Like

    • Wow…
      First of all, I thank you for noticing the missing “be” in the sentence. Such feedback that encourages perfection is the one I hold most valuable.
      Secondly, I wish to admire your eye for detail, when even a pedantic such as myself missed out on the word despite several edits and proofreads of my
      own article.
      Thirdly, you have quite the ability to notice minute details. I would have just been happier if you could have put a face to the name. I would have been much honoured…

      Like

  2. Pingback: Look what I’ve got! | Expressions

Please honour me with your opinion on this...

